kowgurlklub:

tylercoatesI wrote an essay for BlackBook’s April/May issue about gay men in comedy …

Great, another post-gay, self-hating, “these are the NEW BREED of gays who don’t conform to ‘gay stereotypes’ and are therefore groundbreaking and exciting and important” article!

“There are a lot of people who are beginning to feel comfortable being themselves and not fitting into the straight narrative, but they may not follow the standard gay pattern of going to the White Party, dancing with their fabulous asses, and having a witty repartee about Judy Garland. I mean, I love Judy Garland, but I also like Johnny Cash. There are a lot of people that don’t really fit into boxes that have been established for them.”

I mean, seriously – WHAT THE ACTUAL FUCK. Who still thinks that all gay men fit into a “standard gay pattern”? This whole “but I’m not like those Other Gays!” shit is toxic and damaging to us all as a community and needs to fucking stop.

