I’m not insecure about my sexuality. That’s why I don’t need to hate on fems or call myself masc and straight acting. But I’m finding it really hard to meet guys. Thanks to the Internet the art of conversation has completely disappeared unless you include some drunken ramblings from guys I’ll never see again. And online if I don’t write masc or straight acting it seems other men just assume by default that I’m about to explode into a fiery rainbow. I don’t know how straight acting is confused with masculinity anyway, because every straight acting guy I’ve met has been so insecure about being gay it was impossible to initiate a real connection with him without triggering one of a thousand defence mechanisms. I found the straight acting masc guys so prone to dramatic tantrums it was really draining.

Jamie, Grindr user, 27 years old, Sydney Australia

