You DO NOT own the copyright to you Grindr profile.

Today, this guy tried to have his Grindr profile (you know, the one he publicly uploaded for public viewing on my phone and other people’s phones) removed from my Tumblr blog. (22 June 2012 -I have removed his picture because I’ve just thought of a WAY better idea!!)

Tumblr complied with his request and I have immediately reinstated the image. This is the second time someone has tried to do this. I understand Tumblr has a similar approach to YouTube in these instances – comply now, deal with copyright issues later. Makes sense.

I just want to take this opportunity to reiterate, using Grindr’s own TERMS AND CONDITIONS, that your Grindr profile is not your own copyrighted material. It is in the public domain. If there’s something you do not want getting out to the public, then DO NOT put it on your profile.

Now, “Bloke” doesn’t like being criticised for his profile, but that’s just too bad. He has come to a gay space, spewed anti-gay language out for everyone to see, and has to live with the consequences.

Here are the Grindr terms that he has (obviously) never read (but should):

GRINDR PRIVACY POLICY

3.1 Data You Provide to Us.

(a) Profile. We may collect Personal Data from you, such as your photo, display name, status, relationship, looking for, ethnicity, age, height, weight, social network link, “Favorites”, “Blocks” and any other information you voluntarily add to your profile on the Grindr App or is generated by your use of the Grindr Service (“Profile Information”).

5.1 IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT PROFILE INFORMATION. YOU UNDERSTAND THAT WHEN YOU USE THE GRINDR APP, AS A DEFAULT, YOUR PROFILE INFORMATION (DEFINED ABOVE) IS PUBLIC AND OTHER USERS OF THE GRINDR APP CAN SEE YOUR PROFILE INFORMATION. DO NOT INCLUDE INFORMATION IN YOUR PROFILE THAT YOU WANT TO KEEP PRIVATE. Grindr App users can use the search feature in the Grindr App to search for other users by different profile criteria, like age. Your Profile Information will be used for these searches. The Grindr App user interface may include a feature to make certain items of Profile Information non-public, in which case we will respect your selection. However, even if you choose to make non-public certain items of your Profile Information if and as permitted by the user interface, sophisticated users who use the Grindr App in an unauthorized manner may nevertheless be able to obtain this information. The Grindr App may include a feature that allows you to designate certain users as “Favorites” or “Blocked”. Generally, this designation is only viewable by you; however, sophisticated users who use the Grindr App in an unauthorized manner may be able to determine which users you have designated as Favorites or Blocked. YOU HEREBY CONSENT TO THE DISCLOSURE OF YOUR PROFILE INFORMATION AS DESCRIBED ABOVE.

COULD THIS BE MADE ANY CLEARER?
Advertisements